Therapy

Janx

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie and I just wanted to get a little advice on the kinds of therapy that are available at the moment to social anxiety suffers.

I finally went to the doctors about my depression about two months ago now and after alot of tears on my part my doctor has put on a waiting list for therapy. I was told the NHS waiting list was about 3-4 months. I got a form back from the Hospital asking me to rate my depression which I filled and sent back, and am still currently waiting for an appoitment. But I'm nervous about it all. What can I expect from them? If I get someone I have a bad feeling about, I know I'm going to clam-up. Its so hard for me to talk about this on any level, let alone with a complete stranger.

Can anyone share any experiences with me please?

MotherWolff

Banned
Hello Janx and welcome to SPW(hey, I'm a newbie user too). I can see where your coming from. I am currently undergoing therapy supposedly for numerous things(especially depression). Unfortunately, I do not visit my therapist as often as I should because of the co-pay(which my mother ever so kindly pays for me). I usually visit my therapist once either every month or once every other month. When I do visit my therapist, I also have extreme trouble speaking with her like I should; I lay my face against my right fist, I have my right elbow resting on my right leg, and I make eye contact not with my therapist but with the soulless floor. I almost never say anything to my therapist until she asks me a question I feel that I should answer. I feel twice as embarrassed when my mom is in the therapist's office with me. :oops: Because of my clamming-up, I feel that the therapy isn't even working like it should. You can't receive help unless you're willing to allow others to help you. I've been attending these therapy sessions for about 7 months now(keep in mind that I do only see my therapist about once every other month) and I feel absolutely no result from it.