SHYNESS AT WORK HELP!!!!

sl3vin

I've been working at the hospital for about 3 years now. I'm the secretary to the nurses and I am extremely shy at work. I don't know if it's because I feel less poweful than they are or if it's because some of them are a lot older than me so i don't know what to say to them...But I really don't know how to keep a conversation at work or even talk to them at all. This problem consumes me when I get off work and I only work 1 day a week because I am avoiding at all costs seeing them more than that. I've tried to smile all day or say hello to everyone, but it doens't work anymore because no one sparks up a long converstation with me anyways because they know how I am. That I just don't talk to them. I sit at the desk and tend to my work and try to avoid talking to the nurses at all costs. Sometimes I have good days but lately I've been feeling more bad after work because of this. Should I get professional help about this. I mean I'm a overall shy person, but I also go to school and SOMETIMES in school I'm able to meet new people in class etc. But it's just the work thing that is frustrating me. I feel like a fly on the wall at work because everyone is so use to me not talking that no one wants to conversate with me at all. I also feel bad when the secretary for the next shift comes on because all the nurses know she has a great personality and they all talk to her and say hi to her, but like I said with me I'm just a fly on the wall... What do I do??? Also the nurses at work talk behind each others back and I don't want to get caught up in that...So I do a lot of listening and no talking... :oops:I hate being like this at work...I have friends at work but they don't work in my department I dont want the people in my department to think I"m stuck up or something cuz I talk to other workers and not them....