Should I tell my docter to increase my prescription?

Fruit_Punch

Well anxiety has plagued me most of my post adolescent life and only about a year or two ago did I seek medical help for it (i'm 18 now). My anxiety has totally screwed my life and turned me into someone I'm really not.

The 1mg of Alprazolam a day my doctor prescribes provides some temporary relief (that little pill is seriously the only way I can make it through work).

Now I'm looking into college and I don't think that 1mg pill will get me through school AND work. Honestly, I feel I should be taking 2 or 3 mg a day. I need the medicine to last at least 10 hours and with the 1mg dose I'm semi-anxiety free for fours hours at most.

I'm a bit afraid my doctor will be reluctant to increase my prescription; When I told him I sometimes take more then one pill a day he seemed shocked. But I have to tell him anyway. I can't continue having a problem that is easily fixed by a little blue pill slow down my life.

What do you guys think?

Travis88

i could be wrong but i think increasing the strength of the medecine wont make it last longer, thats why there are controlled release pills.

zyxockjm

The way i used to increase my dosage, was by saving my pills when i didnt need them. For example, maybe on a weekend i won't go anywhere, so i save the two pills of those days. then on monday i get to use three pills. Try it once and see if it helps you. If it does, tell your therapist you really really think increasing the dose will help, but never mention you saved pills for to make an overdose later.

Chrisfishes

Be careful with alprazolam... very addictive. From what I understand it is like a band aid, not really helping the problem. My doc says he thinks of it like whiskey for an alcoholic, in the sense that it makes the day easier to handle. But like whiskey you will always need more and in the end you'll end up with a new problem, instead of fixing the one you already have.