sad and fed up

cupcake

Hi I am new to this but have having panic attacks and also have agoraphobia for about 2 years. Its a real drag, I cant really go out on my own except maybe to the nearest shop. I would like to try some kind of anti-depressant but my doc said it may clash with my other medication, I have bi-polar disorder.

Maybe someone has some advice or ideas??
:( cupcake

corrinaelizabeth

hi cupcake basically you have to physically force your self to go out every day, I suggest going to the shop everyday even if you really dont feel like you can,I wouldnt recommend meds you need to do this your self there is no miracle cure.
After a week or so going to the shop alone,I would then try going a little further,try taking a handbag with you to hold and a cd player,you really need to push your self,I know it seems hopeless at the minute but there is no miracle cure and no one can cure you except yourself.
A couple of months ago I was exactly the same I found it hard going out in my garden but I came off all meds and forced myself,Im still not 100% there but I force myself.
Good luck I have faith in you and it might take a long time but if you dont try now this problem will gradually get worse and worse
good luck :D

Funkymunky

My heads a bit wobbly today so I cant say anything very productive except that living with Bi-Polar disorder must take tremendous strength.Luckily mines is just clinical but I have a family member who suffers the same fate as you and I've seen first hand how much he can crash after a high.Its the most painful thing to watch,everytime he feels great he thinks it will last no matter how many times he experiences it.

Sorry rambling now but my point is that even though your depression probably adds to the difficulty in going out,the inner strength your bound to have from living with this condition could also help you conquer the agoraphobia.