SA and my job :'(

I feel so amazingly crap!

I started work at this gift shop last week, and I'm new so I occasionally make mistakes on the til, but everyone always makes this huge deal out of it even though everyone else makes mistakes too, and I feel lame! This one women said to me 'I know you're not stupid, but you keep making these mistakes and the boss will get sick of it', and that just made me feel stupid. Maybe I am stupid! But that woman is like 50 and she's been working behind tils since she was 15 no wonder she's good at it! I'm sorry if I have better things to succeed at than working behind a til!

The more they pressure me, and make a big deal out of the tiny mistakes I make, the more mistakes I make! Because I start panicking, and feeling so stupid and lame!

It's only a stupid job that's getting me money for a car and driving lessons, and I've only been there a week! I've never used a til before! I just hate it cos I know I'm intelligent, but I don't pick up things like how to use a til easily, I go too fast and miss hitting a key and stuff :'(

Surely jobs aint meant to cause this much self loathing?! Cos I don't think I'm gonna be able to work for my whole life if this is how it's gonna make me feel :'(

Naomi x

Sue

im sure you are not doing it on purpose. mistakes are made when people are scared. slow down and remember that you are doing your best. you will get the hang of it. its always hard at first.

Ty, I just needed a vent really.

I don't spose it matters too much even if I am bad at using the tils, it's not like I'm trying to be the worlds best sales assistant, and it's not like I want a degree in it :p I would rather be bad at using til and good at something I can get paid more than mininum wage for to be honest :)

I just feel down cos I have work in a little while, but it's only 3 hours, so I'll be cool, I'm just in the 'dread' stage ya know :p

It's just til I finish my education innit, and then I can do something I'm good at.