Questions about Anxiety on Medications - Cymbalta (deaf guy)

Hello everyone,

I have a question that I hope someone will help me.

I do have Social Anxiety Disorder (SAD) as well as Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD).. currently taking Cymbalta.

Cymbalta has been really helpful to me, but not completely has eliminated all anxiety. I'm taking 60 mg Cymbalta.

Here's few questions:

1) I do still have anxiety, but how do I know if my anxiety is coming from medicine or from being psychological anxiety?

2) Cymbalta has been really very helpful, but I really don't know which is the appropriate dosage for me. Are we supposed to find the appropriate dosage level that will COMPLETELY ELIMINATE anxiety to zero level?

Hope my questions make sense? Merci beaucoup :)

Seattle Guy :) :)

P.S. I'm a newbie here.... :)

Hey worrydoll,

Thanks for the welcome!!! You're right....I should ask the doctor about this, but I do wonder although....

It's my first time on any antidepressant medicine.. does anyone have experiences where the medications has made their anxiety to ZERO level? That's what I am wondering....

I still have anxiety (although considerably reduced) with taking Cymbalta.. does that mean I need to increase dosage to make sure my anxiety is at zero level.. that's what I am wondering....

Merci Beaucoup, worrydoll and thanks for the kind welcome...

Seattle Guy :) :) [/img]

Hey worrydoll,

Yes, I do still get anxiety when I am in social situations even through it's considerably reduced (due to Cymbalta)

Before medication, my anxiety on scale of 1 to 10 was like 8.... now with medication, it's like 3...higher than "normal anxiety"...

well, even with medications, I still clear throat sometimes (one of my SA symptoms) and my signs still "shake" sometimes...sometimes I blink a bit too much. I also continue not to be interested in going out to social situations even with medications. I don't think that's still in "normal anxiety range"