on solipsism

gobblgobbl

First off, as you read the following post, please excuse my ignorance. I, personally, do not have OCD (save a few, not serious symptoms from when I was younger). Though, I did have a friend who suffers from the disorder. She once shared with me that for a while she was mentally obsessed with the philosophical idea of solipsism. From my understanding, many people with OCD have thoughts of solipsism at one time or another. Since I cannot ask her questions (we don't talk anymore), I was wondering if you guys would be willing to answer them.

I am a pretty philosophical person (I'm no expert by any means), and am familiar with the belief of solipsism. Now, my questions to you are the following: Even if your mind is the only thing that exists (for sure, anyways), why does that matter? I mean, what choice do you really have but to keep on living your life how you always have? It really doesn't make anything different, does it? Also, how do those with OCD confront this problem (in getting rid of it, that is)?

thank you for now. =P I'll post more questions as I think of them.

Musicocd

Hi gobbl,

This was one of my worst obsessions a while back, but I didn't know it actually had a name!

The thing about obsessions in ocd is that they are not like normal patterns of thinking. I used to think things like 'Why does it matter if things only exist in my mind?' Then I'd think 'well if things only exist in my mind then my mind is making things up so I could be lying to myself constantly, how am I supposed to do anything if I can't trust myself?' Which is just another question and I've left the first one unanswered. When I was ruminating about these things I, and many people with ocd find this, would never get to a conclusion about anything. I would just spend 3 or so hours asking myself the questions, going round in circles, then getting so tired of myself that I'd just give up and try not to think about anything.