OCD is killing me!!!

pjc104

I can't enjoy anything without obsessing over the dumbest crap... I've stopped taking medication about a week ago, and I don't have another appointment for two weeks!! I feel trapped and I have so much other crap to worry about with school, work, and training for a sport.

I don't have time for these obsessions.... How can I get myself to enjoy life?!?!

yesnomaybe

(PJC104, I have some advice, but realize that I am just an ordinary guy who has been dealing with OD like so many others. You have to decide for yourself whether the advice can help you or not, since every person is in a unique situation. I am not a trained professional, merely someone who's dealt with OD with much success and now has a personal perspective on the subject.)

First of all I have to tell you that I understand the frustration. My obsessing was so bad that it caused me to become horribly nauseated. This lasted every single day for about one and a half years. Imagine how your stomach feels when hung over. Well that's how I felt day after day, from the moment that I woke up to the moment that I went to bed.

You have to read a book called Brain Lock, Free Youself From Obsessive-Compulsive Behavior, by Jeffrey M. Schwartz. I have a great doctor, but I wasn't getting the feedback that I needed from him. This book brought it all together. In conjunction with the meds, counseling and the behavioral therapy that the book discusses, I've come a long, long way. Soon enough you will also, I'm sure.

In the meantime, I'm afraid there are no quick solutions. Staying busy helped me a lot.

I do have one suggestion for dealing with it, though -- something that made a huge difference for me.

First, be mindful of your thoughts. Then, when the obsessing begins, calmly stop the thought, tell yourself something like "ok, this is the disease kicking in, not me", and refocus. Simply move on.