Votes: 0 0.0%
  • 26 - 29

• 30 - 40

• 41 +

• Total voters
I'm not sure if this is SP, so here goes.

When ever talking one to one i seem to feel uncomfortable looking into their eyes - i don't know why but i do - and tend to look and mess with my hands instead of paying attention to them, even though i started the conversation. I feel like they get the message that i am bored and such...

I care what people think about me... I'm fine (different) with people i know really well like the people i grew up with. When i join into a group with my m8s, i mostly just stand their with my hands in my front pockets coz i don't wanna say something that could embarras me, and if i try to join into a conversation - i end up messing up my words, and even my friends have told me i'm not very good with words, i know what i'm goign on about and can talk about things i like really well but i don't know... it's weird...

When a tutor / teacher does that thing where they ask students questions, i pray that they don't ask me incase i get it wrong and make a fool out of myself. Or if they do ask me, and i really don't know i just sit their going red with embarrasment untill the tutor asks somone else.

I'm not 'special' if i've made myself out to be - since i did say i was bad with words :p - i am actually quite intelligent, but i just get really nervous.

If it does come out that i've got SP, can anyone recommend what i should do to fix it? or atleast help it... and please only suggest talking to someone else like my mother or anything if it's the last option because i just wont / can't.

thanks,

annonomususer.

Helyna

Yes, it's social phobia. It doesn't sound like a really bad case, but I think it definitely is SP.

What about a guidance counselor or teacher? Is that any different? Maybe you could write to one, instead of talking?