Noobie here

Cortin

Hi all Newbie here, just found this website. Thought I'd introduced myself.

I don't know if I have social phobia but it sure sounds like it.

It all started at primary, I remember I had one teacher that picked on me. I hated her. I was teased constantly in primary school, basically had 1 or two friends that whole time. The teachers and principals etc didn't seem to care, when ever I fought back I got in trouble. I was told to ignore the teasing, like that ever worked.

Then I got to highschool and I thought I'd escaped it, but I just got teased again. Those years I just felt so alone, I never fitted in, I was the odd one out. I had the brains to do well, but I really didnt do well, i suppose I didn't want to stick out. I just felt so alone, none of the teachers did anything.

Now I've gotten on with life since that, moved to a different town where no one knows me, but I still can't seem to shake my shyness, social fears.

I'm fine when I'm with people I know, but put me in an new situation and my mind and heartbeat go racing. Sometimes I tell myself I can't drink anything because I can feel that my hands are going to start shaking if I hold a cup of coffee or something, I Know it's happened to me in situations, I have to hold it with two hands to hide the shake. :(

It's holding me back and work because I'm always thinking about what might happen and I seem to want to avoid confrontation/conflict even when it's against my interests.

I don't like going out because I'm just so nervous in public situations. I tend to stay at home, I do go out sometimes, but get me in a large crowd and I start to get uncomfortable. I'm fine when the contact isn't face to face, but I sometimes get apprehensive when I need to call a new contact at work and I feel I come over as too nervous.