New member-I just realized I am a social phobic

freesprit

Yesterday I was thinking about why on earth I am so tense around people and it poped in my mind that I might have a social phobia. I researched the net all night and visited many forums and now I realize that a lot of people suffer from similar sympthoms.

Yesterday me and my co-workers went out for lunch and as usual i started feeling very tense as we took off. My hands were sweating and I was feeling dizzy. i have been working at his place for 2,5 years and I still feel nervous around people. The very weird thing is I think i am very good at hiding it. Everybody thinks that I am this pretty, self-confident and cool girl. But the reality is I am exhausted trying to hide the anxiety I experience dealing with all social situations. I am usually better at one-to-one interactions but sometimes even one-to-one communication become arduous.

Being so tense hinders my communication abilities. For example sometimes my thoughts freeze and I do not know how to respond to people. Sometims when i am asked a question I say something stupid which makes me feel ashamed. The worst is with jokes. When interacting with people I am never comfortable enought to make jokes or respond to other peoples jokes in a smart fashion. Despite all what I feel people seems to like spending time with me and are attracted to me. Sometimes I wonder if I am creating all of this in my head. Maybe I am being to harsh to myself.

I want peace. I want to be comfortable with people. I want to stop acting like I am not. Anybody feeling the same??

Marvolo

freesprit said: