Need Some Advice (Freelance Job Related)

this_portrait

I have searched online high and low for answers to this, but it's like there's a lot left out, and I don't really know where else to reach out for advice on it. If anyone here can provide some input on how I can proceed with this, especially if you have knowledge of journalism (specifically op ed pieces), it would be greatly appreciated.

First off, I'm a writer. I like writing fiction, but I'm also a very opinionated person and like to write essays expressing those opinions. I want to get more of my work out there and published (and get paid for it), and I think op ed pieces would be a (somewhat) easier way to do that (rather than submitting short stories to online magazines that hardly anyone reads anyway).

However, I don't want to write under my real name, for a couple reasons that I think are pretty reasonable. The first reason is that I live in an area where the opinions of the majority populace are quite different from my own. Not only am I in the process of looking for a day job, but I would like to keep that job as well. I don't want employers looking me up and then choosing not to hire me for having the "wrong" opinion. I also don't want to make it easier for nutjobs online to find out my place of employment and call there in an attempt to get me canned because they didn't like an op ed piece I wrote (and are scum).

The other reason is (which kind of ties in with the previous one) I don't want someone confronting me in person with the intent to harrass or harm me. While the chances of that happening are rather small, I don't want to disregard that minority of insane people who would.