need advice please

Blink

Hi everyone. I want to go to a doctor or something to get help for my social phobia (I have not yet been diagnosed but I am pretty sure I have it) and was just wondering if taking pills for it actually helps? And what about therapy?

Fighter86

I am no expert but I think u can be given benzos for the short term relief of anxiety(it works quickly to help relief u of some anxiety) and an SSRI to improve your mood.

As for therapy, it is most likely that u r going to be on CBT(cognitive behavorial therapy)..which is what most social phobic people undergo... :wink:

Scottish_Player

Hi Blink,i went to the doctors today to talk to him about SA?/SP for the first time it was rather nerving but iam glad i done it now,he gave me lexapro i havent taken any yet but i'll keep you posted.Iam like you in thinking will they actualy work but i have no options left and i dont see the harm in giving them ago as i cant realy feel much worse than i felt this morning.If the work then good :D and if they dont well what harms been done it just means i'll need to try and find something that does work :roll:

Hope it works out for you when you go :wink:

Blink

Thanks for the replies :D
I hope it works out for you Scottish player. I know that taking drugs or therapy should help.. cause otherwise they wouldn't be used.. I just keep thinking that I can ignore my problems and they'll go away, but I know I need to get help. I'm thinking of telling my parents about everything so they can help me see a doctor. For some reason I just keep putting it off though.
Well anyways, thanks for taking the time to read this.

Scottish_Player

Blink said:
For some reason I just keep putting it off though.