My Hyperhidrosis Experience

dkurtz

Hey all, I've lurked here for a while without creating an account. (Pinker's posts have been very helpful btw). Seeing how there isn't any definitive cure for HH, I thought I would share my experiences...

I have always had palmar and underarm HH. 5th grade is when I started to notice my condition. I just dealt with it for a few years, doing the whole routine of wearing dark baggy clothes, constantly changing shirts, etc. I tried to not let it affect my life and my pursuits, however. Just recently I've decided to grip this thing by the balls and do something about it. I think thats the best approach for our situation.

So now I'm a sophomore in college and so far I've tried:

Drysol.
This worked for me for about a week before sweating persisted. Throughout high school it was off and on with the drysol, each time being less effective than the previous before I threw that out entirely.

Ditropan
Really had no effect besides a constantly dry mouth

And a few other pills that really didn't help my condition.

Botox in the Underarm
This was a fight with the insurance company and the dermatologist. Basically last summer I spent two months playing the middle man between my insurance provider and dermatologist. I wanted to try botox but it is expensive and it would only be an option if covered by my insurance. I had to call my dermatologist every other day to know my status. The dermatologist refused to contact my insurance and the insurance company refused to contact the dermatologist. So basically every day was: To the dermatologist "My insurance says that they never received this form, did you send it to this address/ fax number?" Their response: "No we sent it to the number they gave us which is: 'wrong number'".....Long story short: TOTAL PAIN IN THE ASS. However, after a long wait and once everything was settled, it turned out that I was insured (thank god!). Everything went through. I had an appointment setup for the botox shots.