Help

Andy19

My name is Andy, I'm 19 and I am an undergraduate student studying Graphic & Communication Design at the Univeristy of Leeds, England.

For a design task, I have been given a list of phobias that I need to choose from and visually show how that phobia is experienced by a sufferer.

I have chosen to research Agoraphobia. It is in this respect why I am writing this to you all, in order to better develop my understanding of agoraphobia. It would be great help if you could briefly describe what you feel with this phobia; what you specifically fear, what makes it worse etc.

Thank you very much,

Andy

Caseums21

It is very hard to explain agoraphobia or any kind of phobia to someone doesn't have it but I will do my best. Many people are different so you'll get different answers. Agoraphobia can be caused by numerous reasons.

I'm a 23 year old female who slowly started to get this phobia about 2 years ago. When I go out in town, about 20 minutes from my house, I start to get panic attacks. I don't fear that people look at me weird, but for me, its health reasons. I had stomach problems for years and I would get sick in town so that gave me the phobia. Getting sick anywhere is so embarrassing. Now, I stay home unless I have to go out. The weird thing is, when I go out more than 2 hours away, I'm fine. I feel so relaxed. So I pretty much fear getting sick in public.

I can't go to restaurants at all. That makes me so much worse. I haven't been out to eat in about 5 months. I always get sick after I eat when I'm out of my house. I don't know why but I tense up. I don't mind not eating out but when I hang out with friends, it's tough to try to explain to them why I won't eat. But it's rare that I hang out with anyone.

Also, winter time is always the worse for me. I never do anything in the winter. I still can't figure out why it's winter because I love snow. But soon as winter comes, I feel horrible.