First time experience with OCD Partner... I need answers!

moony

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here... thanks in advance to anyone who reads this and has any insight because I am totally at a loss for answers.

I was dating someone for a few months, but prior to this, we had been very close friends... our relationship escalated so quickly, and we were amazed that we had actually 'found each other'.

I'm not someone who over reacts or is a blinded romantic, but I really felt closer to him than anyone I had ever met in my life. It was an amazing relationship... and from what I gathered, he felt exactly the same about me. We always called each other our "twin" because we could actually read each other's minds and feel each other when we were not even present.

He confided in me one night that he has OCD. Incessant hand washing (which improved upon a bit... at least in my presence he never did this) INTENSE fear of blood and the ground, feet, dog poo on the ground, fears in social situations, deeply afraid of HIV or giving anyone any disease, causing harm to others... I was the only person outside of his immediate family who knew of this... he was so ashamed, but I'm glad he felt he could trust me with this. Over the course of time, I found he was desperately afraid of contamination by keeping his cell phone in plastic, coming home from work and having his ritual time to decontaminate... I only know the word "ritual" from all of the research I've done on OCD at this point.

I was of the thought that we were going to rocket to the moon together in love... Everything was so beautiful with us...

And then he just cut it off.

I knew that it had to do with OCD, but I am completely open to accepting that perhaps he was just a 29 year old man who became "afraid of commitment" and I'm just flattering myself thinking it's not me, it's the OCD...