College

BenKatz

Didn't see a forum for this, so I'm putting it here. Anyone have issues with college? In terms of it being so hard to go and get things going?

Here's my story.

I graduated hs in 1997, lived at home until my mom died when I was, I guess 27...I started community college in the fall of 2008, had no savings, have a full time job, but it doesn't pay well enough to even live on- especially when I had to buy a car to get back and forth from work...I have no parents now, no close family really, so I had to take stafford loans out. It took me 3 yrs- I'll finish this May 2011, mainly due to the school dropping some of the classes I needed to graduate (visual communications- film and video degree) because so few people signed up...anyway- had to take out the max stafford of $10 per year for tuition, books, fees, and to help pay half of the rent, as I found a roommate I'm living with.

So, when I finish, I'll be $31k in debt (ugh)...and I have to continue to get a bachelors, but no in-state schools offer film really, so I've chosen arizona state university...except for tuition fees, books, and dorm and food, it's $34, 000 per yr (omg!)

I can't just stop with an associates degree, as it won't get me a job, esp. not one paying dbl what I make now, which is what I'd need to meet my obligations AND start paying off the $31k in debt.