University tutorials

alana

im in my second year of uni... and im at the point where i feel like i have to quit... as one of my tutorials is horrible..

The teacher goes out of her way to ask everyone in the class questions... for some godly reason she managed to miss me this week... but i have another 14 classes with her... im sure she is definatly going to ask me next week to contribute and it will be a constant thing from then on... Its all too much to just break down someones security walls that quickly?

My other tutorial 25 % of my mark is based on class discusion..

I spoke to my psychologist and also Disability Unit and they can help me.. however my psychologist sounds like she wants me to not get away with it all that easily..

anyway im panicked....

uhmm_doh

i think it's great you have a psychologist at uni to help you out... wish i had one at mine!

really hope u are able to go through with the class, hard as it may be...

Scooter

that sucks, I'm finishing my second year at uni and I've got one of those too. I;ve been through disabilities, spoken to the lecturer, tried all the avenues they say to use as a student and i'ts not working. I have to go to this stupid lab tomorrow morning and I don't want to go but I know if I don't I'll fall even farther behind which will increase my anxiety even more! I love my degree, but this one unit is making me seriously consider being at uni at all.

jbeenthere

do not quit. I did and going back after many years was really hard. If you can just graduate you can know that you have accomplished something to be proud considering you did it with SA. some day you will be able to tell someone that you didn't quit even though you were in daily agony. very few will understand or appreciate this accomplishment, but those with SA who have been there, will hail you as a champion and will recognize you for your courage.

alana

thanks for all the advice..

scooter, that sounds exactly like me..