Exercise helps....

bipsi

I have been working out for 4/5 years. Not very regular though. As I have been suffering from these disorders (SAD, ADD, Depression etc.) for a very long time, my immune system has become very weak. And I get sick very often. That's why I often discontinue my exercise. Now the point is, I noticed when I can't go to gym for some days my SAD gets worse and becomes severe day by day. Exercise cannot cure my SAD even if I am regular, but It helps. I think I should try yoga. It would be better for this kinda problem. What do you think, guys?

pitkreet

Exercise isn't a cure for SA but everyone should take exercise as it's good for the body and mind.

I do a bit of yoga now and then. It's nice, it stretches the muscles and makes me feel less crunched up and tense. I also feel refreshed and releaxed afterwards. Somehow I never feel particularly excited by the prospect of doing it so don't do it as much as would truly benefit me.

Also tried meditiation but could never get it to happen.

I recommend yoga, not just because it's good for your body and mind, but because trying new things is also good for you. It broadens the mind, gives you addition knowledge and it's good to have addition knowledge of things you can talk about with other people.

Don't go for the headstands too early - they're actually potentially dangerous (one false move and you could break your neck). Build up with the easier stuff first, concentrate on getting the postures correct and the deep breathing working right rather than rushing through and going to the advanced stuff too early.

I'm sure you're not expecting it to cure SA but I say definitely take it up!!

Quixote

Maybe yoga would not be as good for depression because it involves (I think) much less muscular exertion. I am no expert, but I have read somewhere that it is precisely exertion that triggers the production of those chemicals in the brain that make you feel better and help combat depression.