Driving and Social Anxiety

SaharaWorld

Hi everyone

Guess what? My SA even poses problems from me when I'm driving (I'm a learner at the moment)....I thought it would be great for someone like to me to learn to drive so that I don't have to use public transport - something I dread as an SA sufferer. As a passenger, I'm very comfortable being in a car. However, as a driver, my SA has become an issue!! :(

I feel very nervous , particularly in narrow roads or situations when other drivers come into close proximity.....even when other drivers wait for you while you complete your manouvre. I feel like they're observing and judging me. I feel flustered and panicked:oops: :oops:

Is this the case for other people who drive? Or is this one area that your SA does not interfere with?

Chilling__Echo

yeah, there must be some connection b/c i was the last of all my friends to learn how to drive and i had to learn so i could go off to college etc. it took me years...

i get REALLY nervous if people i'm not very close to are riding with me (i.e. anyone other than my mom or my best friend). i'm so afraid i'll scare them or something will happen b/c i'm so nervous...

maggie

Driving is difficult for me also....but being a passenger in the car is very relaxing...i have to drive to work..i live out in the country...first thing in the morning...like 4 am not too many others on the road and it's dark...it's better, but i get really nervous when other cars get too close to me...or are waiting behind me at a stop sign...i feel like they're judging me...or like...getting impatient with me....but the worst is stopped at a red light....and someone in car next to me...and i feel like i'm being checked out or stared at 8O ...i always try to fidget to look busy...but i probably look more like a dork 8O .....and i'm constantly worried and checking my fluids under the hood...cause one of my worst fears is breaking down and having to go somewhere unfamiliar looking for help :x

PhantomPod