Perfectionism and OCD

lunarla

Is currently ruining my life right now. Sounds dramatic, but it's really not an over exaggeration. At least, not to me. Everything that has ever really been important to me is just falling through.

My perfection causes me to underachieve. My view on things is very "all or nothing." If it can't be perfect, exactly how I want it, why do it at all. Just last year I graduated, and what was once my best subject turned into my worst because I wouldn't hand in essays. I just wouldn't write them because I knew they wouldn't be good, I felt. And even though I would consciously choose not to write them, not doing so caused me a lot of stress, anxiety and depression.

What I wouldn't give now to be just going through that though. My perfectionism and "all or nothing" attitude has now attacked something that is really, really important to me. A little over a month ago, I started seeing someone who I've known for about 3 years and was very close to at a point. That relationship didn't work out at the time, but I immensely want it to now. Basically, for the first week or so I was very excited about it and him and being together. I then had the worst panic attack I'd ever experienced which led me to going to the hospital. After that, nothing has been the same. The onset of the panic attack was caused by me thinking in my mind that "it wasn't going to work out." All or nothing says - well, if it isn't going to work out how you want it to, why try at all? With that, all my excitement and hope was gone. I didn't even give it permission to, it just left.