need advice badly on job

Flanscho

Situation is like this:

November last year, I was working on a project at the company I work for (I'm a programmer). Suddenly one of my two bosses (they share the company) came in with a potential client, asking me whether I could realize some project. I said "sure, should I start with it once I'm done with this?", to which they replied with "none".

Fast forward to mid january this year. I didn't have much to do, no urgent projects to work on. At a meeting of the company (a tiny company, just me, two other coworkers and two bosses), I asked "what about this project mentioned end of last year, what's with it?" And I was told "nah, not important".

Fast forward, to end of january this year. They fire me for not having enough programming work, and tell me that I don't have to show up anymore, since they got no work anyway, but I should stay on standby.

Fast forward today, they asked me to show up, so I did that. This is the last week for me, at the end of this week, my contract with them ends.
One boss: "remember the one project we talked about in november? how quickly can you do it?"
Me: "Uhm, I have to program it from ground up. With these these and these functions (*poining at a mindmap I made*) I can finish it, with luck, in this week. But only if the coworkers provide the layout, graphics and all that, so I can concentrate on programming."
Boss: "not enough, I want it with those functions there too"
Me: "not doable in this week"
Boss: "then do it next week, you had lots of spare time the last few weeks"
Me: "I was on constant standby. Next week I won't work for you anymore. If you want me to work for you then, I can do it as a freelancer, and we negotiate a payment"
Boss: "no! I want this project done until the end of the next week! You had enough time, why didn't you work on it earlier? You didn't have much to do!"
Me: "I asked whether I should work on it. You said I shouldn't."
Boss: "I don't remember that!"