I am losing hope...

catrin87

Hi everyone. I'm new here but I'm hoping that maybe I can share a bit of my story and that maybe in doing so I will feel a little bit less lost and alone.

Basically, I have somehow allowed my SA to infiltrate and destroy every single part of my life now and I feel like it has gone so far that I am never going to recover, or feel even remotely 'normal' ever again.

I have always been quite a shy person, well actually just more of an introvert really. I would feel quite comfortable around people but I was just more of a 'background' type than someone who requires a lot of attention - which was perfectly fine. But somehow, particularly in the last 3/4 years, I have become so socially phobic and anxious and depressed that I, quite literally, do not know who I am anymore. I feel like I have about 7 different personalities depending on who I am with or what I am doing - which is a truly horrible way to live.

I am a university student, in my final year (I honestly do not know how I made it this far) doing a degree in Art. I have not attended a single one of my seminars since the first semester of my first year, so that was about 2 years ago. I never attend any of the workshops, and if I do go into the studio I choose the quietest times to go in, keep my head down, and then leave as quickly as possible. This has meant that the majority of people on my course don't know me or recognise me, and has led to some extremely awkward encounters when people who have been on the same course as me for nearly 3 years come over and ask me 'Oh are you new? when did you start?' etc, which in turn only makes me feel worse! I don't think the tutors even know who I am, or if they do they have given up trying to chase me to come to the seminars etc. Obviously this has meant that I have done really badly on my degree so far, and I highly doubt that I will graduate with anything more than a 3rd. I would have left the course ages ago but I can't face disappointin