Hi im a newbie here...

symbiosis

Hi im a newbie here

Hi there,

I'm a newbie too, who has been checking out this forum!

Sounds like a great move, going to a support group. I joined one (Connect in SA) 18 months ago and it has been so helpful....it is CBT based and we share our challenges and successes each fortnight. They also run workshops, which I attended and am now helping to facilitate - talk about challenging!!!

I too have had a very rocky road with social phobia and am just reaching the top of the hill to a nicer outlook (took ages and lots of tears to get to this point though!!!) I try not to think of what I've missed out on, just live for the moment and make the most of it. If nothing else, this bl@@dy condition teaches great strength and determination. All the people at my support group are really brave and have lovely qualities as people.

Good luck with your group - I'm sure if you hang in there it will be helpful. I found it a revelation to realise that I wasn't uniquely "weird" and that other people are in the same boat. (I was never diagnosed until I stumbled across a SP website - I nearly fell off my chair when I realised that was what I'd had all those years....)

Anyway, I'm going on.... :)

symbiosis

Hi again,

It is hard to talk about isn't it?? Can be so overwhelming, I think I aged my mother a decade from all the ear bashing she put up from me.....I was so confused and unhappy.......

I really hope you go to the group and meet other people you can share things with - please go!! You owe it to yourself!! You definitely seem to have the right attitude for helping yourself and you are right re no quick fixes (bummer hey?!)

Cheers and good luck :)

terresap

Thanks for the good luck wishes.
:D

PS - dont go in the chat room, seems like the people in there are not very welcoming of us :oops:

Anonymous

Yeah Hi Symbiosis and others..