Battling 10 years of mental illness

dannyboy65

I've been thinking a lot and it occurred to me that I've been battling my mental illness for 10 years. In those 10 years I was diagnosed with depression, anxiety disorder, bi polar disorder, and schizophrenia. I guess it really started with bullying where my only friend was my cousin. But when I got to grade 5 she was diagnosed with cancer. A year later my cousin lost her battle and I remember putting a doll on her casket, she was only 9.

After that the bullying got worse and the people who I thought were my friends betrayed me and hurt me to look cool. I started to develop depression and anxiety, it caused me to hurt myself. My parents had to check my wrists and stomach along with my legs to make sure I wasn't hurting myself, I was 11.

I began to have panic attacks hourly for years. I rarely ate or slept. I was always panicking about nothing. I'd get such bad panic attacks I would puke. I eventually developed an eating disorder where I would choke and puke. I still remember all those years every night crippled because of my anxiety and crying so much cause I was so scared.

Eventually all of the anxiety and depression worsened and worsened. I wanted to die, but I was so scared of death cause I didn't know what would happen. So instead I began to hurt myself more and more.

When I was 14 I began to hear things. Voices would haunt my mind and scream at me, they would whisper, tell me how pathetic I am. To this day I still hear them. They caused me to start blacking out in anger and hurting people I never wanted to hurt. They started to control my life and it built up more of my anxiety and depression. I was starting to lose myself.