Any engineering students?

alwayswet

I have a BS in Electronics Engineering and I thought I would give you some pointers/hints. I am 50 years old and at the time in my life where i am looking back about things I would do differently. Do better in college was one of them. I graduated with a 2.6 GPA and it wasn't from a well known engineering school. A lot of that had to due with social anxiety. My advice would be to seek counseling or see a doctor before you start college. My parents grew up in the depression and think nobody should be anxious in this day and age. They don't understand because they have never suffered from it. You MUST make your parents understand that you are not comfortable in social situations and need medical help. Trust me as an engineering student you will be anxious, but you must overcome. Yes you will need to work with other people in college and real life. I am like you more of a loner, but being a loner will hurt your chances of success in college and real life. I don't have any magic elixirs or advice on anxiety because I still feel anxious in social situations, but I still go to work. You don't really have a choice.

So here are some of my observations about college and the field overall:

1.) You must love math. I like math but didn't particularly love it. Calculus kicked my ***, and most engineering courses are built off of Calculus. I had straight A's in Algebra and Trigonometry at a junior college, and a 3.6 overall GPA in engineering courses but when I transferred to a four year college I was in no way prepared for the level of difficulty. If you struggle with Calculus get a tutor and go see your professor. Even if it takes re-taking classes and throw off your graduation schedule get comfortable with Calculus. Chances are you will never use Calculus after college but you will use it a lot in college.